close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Driving Safety Course


____________________________________________________________________________________________________
AMENDED JUDGE'S ORDERS REGARDING REQUIREMENTS FOR DRIVER SAFETY COURSE FOR DISMISSAL - 
1. Driver's Safety Course is not available when the alleged speed is 95 mph or 25 mph over posted limit, or in a construction zone where workers are present - per DPS guidelines.

2. If the alleged speed is 20% over the posted limit, Driver Safety Course will be allowed....however, you will also be required to complete the following:

     a. 6 hrs of Community service and pay the window fine of the violation
     *** if the defendant is under 25 yrs of age, you will be required to complete 8 hours of community service instead of
     6 hours plus pay the window fine of the violation, not the discounted amount of $144 or $169 (if in a school zone).

     b. 8 hours of community service will be required and window fine, not the discounted amount of $144.00, if the violation       was committed in a construction zone where workers were NOT present.

3. Driver's Safety Course is NOT available for transportation code 545.157 Passing Authorized Emergency Vehicles/Failed to Yield Row to Emergency Vehicles

as Ordered by Presiding Judge Jim Minter, Rhome Municipal Court, City of Rhome, Wise County, Texas
06/13/2024
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

You must possess a current valid Texas Drivers License or current valid U.S. Military license, or the spouse/dependent of a U.S. Military personnel, to be considered for Driving Safety Course (DSC).


If you are charged with a moving violation, you may request, not later than your initial appearance date, to take a DSC.
At the time of the request, you must present a copy of your current and valid Texas Driver License or Military License, proof of current liability insurance valid for at least the next 90 days, and a copy of your Type 3-A Driving Record printed from the TX DPS website:  https://txapps.texas.gov/tolapp/txldrcdr/TXDPSLicenseeManager, and pay court costs and administrative fees of $144.00 (or $169.00 for school zone offense). You are not eligible for DSC if the alleged speed is 25 miles or more over the posted speed - (see Judge's Amended order above).

You will be required to complete a DSC that has been approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). You MUST present to the Court, not later that the 90th day from the date of your plea, your original (signed) Course Completion Certificate and any required compliance documents. Failure to comply by the deadline may result in a judgment of guilt, additional state fees and court costs being assessed, and your violation may appear on your driving record as a conviction.

You are eligible to request a DSC if you  (however, additional conditions for dismissal may apply per the Judge's orders):
1. Have a valid Texas Drivers License
2. Have current insurance in your name
3. Have not taken a DSC in the past 12 months from the violation date, and must submit a notarized statement stating such
4. Submit your Type 3-A Driving Record printed from the TX DPS website:  https://txapps.texas.gov/tolapp/txldrcdr/TXDPSLicenseeManager
4. Cannot possess a Commercial Drivers License
5. Cannot have committed one of the following offenses:
     -----  Failure to give information at accident scene;
     -----  Leave the scene of accident;
     -----  Passing school bus;
     -----  A serious traffic violation;
     -----  Was in construction zone with workers present;
     -----  Speeding 25 mph or more over the posted limit
     -----  Passing Authorized Emergency Vehicle
     -----  Fail to Yield Row to Authorized Emergency Vehicle